chrome

Hidden Google Chrome privacy issues you should know about

March 10, 2014
8899 Views

chrome Hidden Google Chrome privacy issues you should know about

Two hidden privacy issues you need to know about

If you use Google Chrome, there are two privacy issues, regarding the deletion of your browsing history, you need to know about. Even though you think you have successfully removed all traces, there are two more issues are hiding, and while they were unveiled some time ago, many people remain unaware.

More than likely, you are currently using the following protocol to delete your history: Preferences-? Show advanced settings? Clear browsing data. A window with a series of checkboxes is displayed and you select the data you want erased and click the “clear browsing data” button, assuming your online footsteps have been erased. If this is your assumption, you will want to know about two instances where this is not true.

Read also: Google Chrome keeps getting faster and faster

bar Hidden Google Chrome privacy issues you should know about
The first issue relates to your use of the zoom function. Sometimes when visiting a website we zoom in to see an image better, or out to view a complete set of statistics, no big deal. But, when you use the zoom function, your browser remembers the zoom setting for each website, so it can apply it automatically the next time you visit.



Advertise at AG

While this may be helpful, it also creates a log of your online visits based on your zoom usage and this information is not deleted when you delete you browsing history in the aforementioned step. Currently, there does not seem to be a way to clear this data from the system, consider limiting your use of the zoom function to sites you do not mind people knowing you visit.

The second instance is in regards to DNS domains. DNS converts a domain name into an IP address, while DNS loading times vary greatly based on the network and server, Chrome’s browser “pre-fetches” the information to save you time.

For example, it will lookup the DNS and cache it to your user profile; so when you click on a link, the cached result is loaded rather than searching for the information each time. Just like the zoom function, this information is not deleted when you delete your browsing history. This can leave a rather large trail of information and websites visits. To clear the cache, navigate to chrome://net-internals/#dns.

Bottom line: do not rely on Chrome to fully erase any of your information, even in “Incognito” mode. Be aware of what sites you visit and know that clearing your history does not always remove your footprints.

Jennifer Walpole is a staff writer for AGBeat and holds a Master's degree in English from the University of Oklahoma. She is a science fiction fanatic and enjoys writing way more than she should. She dreams of being a screenwriter and seeing her work on the big screen in Hollywood one day.