facebook logo

Block users from seeing when you’ve viewed their Facebook message

December 29, 2012
3449 Views

facebook Block users from seeing when youve viewed their Facebook message

Browser extension for busy people with manners

Back in the day, you could read a Facebook message and respond later when you had time, but did you know that Facebook shows others when you’ve “seen” a message? The sender may think of you as rude if you fail to respond, or delay a response after reading, be it an inbox message or a chat message.

Enter Chat Undetected, a browser extension for Chrome, Internet Explorer, and Firefox, which disables the “seen” feature, and blocks users from seeing when you’ve viewed their Facebook message.

While the browser extension offers you a chance to be polite and simply respond when you have time, critics note that it is rude to turn the feature off.

We maintain, however, that a teenager turning it off to dodge mom or dad’s notes can be construed as rude, but a professional may have two seconds to view whether a message is life or death, while not having the time to formulate a meaningful response is not rude, but an attempt at efficiency.

The browser extension can help save time and trouble, but most of all is a chance to be polite, which is nice in the fast paced world of social media.

Click here to download Chat Undetected.

Marti Trewe reports on business and technology news, chasing his passion for helping entrepreneurs and small businesses to stay well informed in the fast paced 140-character world. Marti rarely sleeps and thrives on reader news tips, especially about startups and big moves in leadership.


  • http://www.facebook.com/jo.soss Jo Soss-Olson

    Thanks for the heads up. I had no idea. I guess I wouldn’t be bothered if they knew I had seen it and not replied yet.