Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story
I queued up Mashable.com at 10:50 am cst and received the above error. According to Google, Malware is detected on Mashable.com.
Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer! The website at mashable.com contains elements from the site cdn.eyewonder.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.
There is a lot that loads when joinning any page and Mashable and any website can add things to their site that haveunknowingly been flagged in Google for malware, but nonetheless, proceed cautiously when you see this error.
I cannot in any way see Pete Cashmore of Mashable fame knowingly allowing any form of malicious content on the site, but none the less, a warning from Google is pretty strong.
Developing story
Start spreading the news...
This article published on Friday, July 3rd, 2009 at 12:08 pm | Contact the editor
Topics: News
About this Columnist (Full Profile)
AGBeat Founder, Director: I’ve dedicated the past two decades to consumerism in and out of the real estate space. I help focus corporations on consumerism, consumer needs and trends, and what consumers find valuable. I hope you enjoy AG, and that you will reach out if I can help your company or association communicate it’s value.
Email Benn RosalesComments (19)
Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed
Social Shares & Links Back
- EyeWonder malware incident affects popular web sites | Zero Day | ZDNet.com:
[...] popular and high trafficked web sites such as CNN, BBC, Washington Post, Gamespot, WorldOfWarcraft, Mashable, Chow.com, ITpro.co.uk, AndroidCommunity; Engadget and Chip.de, are reporting that parts of the web [...]
- Frank Tirelli:
Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate …: I queued up Mashable.com at 10:50 am cst and re.. http://bit.ly/ELAPY
- Ara Mamourian:
Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate …: I queued up Mashable.com at 10:50 am cst and re.. http://bit.ly/rAUnK
- AgentGenius:
#agnow [...] popular and high trafficked web sites such as CNN, BBC, Washington Post, Gamespot, WorldOfWarcraft, Ma… http://cli.gs/saD5U
- Charles Martin:
Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate … http://tinyurl.com/mwmpur
- Shirley:
Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate … http://bit.ly/16XmUS
- Scotty More:
http://bit.ly/G7WEc Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate … http://bit.ly/eAr7h
- InfoSec:
Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate … http://bit.ly/BvZzK #threats2watch
- Hacker Tweets:
InfoSec: Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate … http://bit.ly/BvZzK #threats2watch
- Malware:
Malware Mashable.com Malware Detected? Breaking Story | Real Estate …: I queued up Mashable.com at 10:5.. http://twurl.nl/fkyx6u
- Jack Leblond:
@jaimy_marie is it this? http://bit.ly/XWi3D















WOW! I’m there every week. That can’t be good for their traffic
i bet that scared some @mashable readers back into the feed reader. scary to think this could happen to such a well known site, YIKES!
for the past few days I have not been able to go the Mashable without my browser crashing (in Firefox). strange
Same warning coming up at other sites, also ones which would never knowingly host anything malicious.
I got the Google warning this morning, 7/3, when browsing on icanhascheezburger.com. I sent a copy of the message to icanhascheezburger.com but haven’t herad baCK from them yet.
It’s not us, it’s a site called eyewonder that serves ads to many major sites: I got one this morning on CNN.com. Don’t think there’s a genuine maware threat: it’s Google mis-flagging eyewonder.
Hopefully they’ll address it soon.
I’ll bet that is why Firefox kept crashing every time I went to mashable today – hoping the offensive ad has been blocked.
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.eyewonder.com/company.php&hl=en
That ad site is a mess – I’ll place my money on Google. If you click on any of the links in that first link above – such as:
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=elfah.net/&hl=en
(elfahnet) Malicious software includes 6614 scripting exploit(s), 3838 trojan(s), 3027 exploit(s).